top of page

Watch me memorize; ms 60 & 61

I need to memorize Neshama, as I will be playing it in June at Hamilton College. I already have a bit of muscle memory, but want to take the memorization to a deeper level. There are lots of places to forget. I am going to work on 2 measures a day, memorizing the left and right hand separately and commenting on the the things that help me remember what the 2 measures are about.

Measure 60 and 60 of Neshama:

1. The Left hand starts with a broken 1-5 on A, and then D, and then repeats.

2. I place LH: 3 (important to remember) on G, 2, on A, skip note, and 1 on C#

3. LH: keep 1 on C# and place down for stepwise triplet, 3rd finger on the a, and then slide up with that third finger to the B, placing 2 and 1 on the C and D.

4. Rh: starts on C# and then to the A above, and down the scale to C# and repeat that figure. Finger 4, 1, 2, 1, 2, 3, 4.

5. m. 61: RH: 3,2,2,1,2, IMPORTANT; place 4, 3, 2. in measure 61; the RH, comes off just before, so as to place the 4, 3, 2; while sliding the 3rd finger from the A to the B in the LH.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page