top of page

I am a Finalist

When I saw my name on the list of finalists, I was outrageously, wildly thrilled and excited. I felt this perpetual smile inside, and pleasure for weeks. My piece was chosen as a finalist in The Future Blend Project, a harp composition contest. How many ways did this overwhelm me?

In 2014 I composed my first piece for the harp, and by the end of 2015 I had composed five Namepieces. I had no training in composition, and considered my pieces novelties, that had some beautiful passages. So from that beginning, to now find myself 2 1/2 years later to be one of 13 finalists in a harp competition contest was astounding. Being a finalist in The Future Blend Project meant that others found real merit in my work.

And it got better. My piece, Neshama, was to be performed at The Future Blend Project

concert/contest on January 7, 2017 in Warwick England. Having always loved much of the english sensibility, and particularly the cowpat school of English music (pastoral), I would get to travel to England for the performance. And the performance was to be held in an ancient 14th century almshouse, The Lord Leycester Hospital. That prospect alone, stirred my heart beyond measure.

Olivia Jageurs, a professional harpist in London was chosen to play Neshama at the concert.

I would work with her over the three months before the concert, polishing Neshama. I would have the chance to hear someone else play my piece; someone who has taken on the cause of composers by playing 15 seconds of any harp composition.

On the day of the concert/contest, Neshama was to be recorded, along with all the other finalist's pieces, for a CD. This CD would help to raise money to fund the next Future Blend Project. And I would come away with a professionally played and recorded performance of Neshama.

What fairy god-mother dreamed this up to bestow on me?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page